Skip to content

All Twilight Books in Order: Chronological and Release Orders

twilight books in order

Okay, I will admit, as a teenager I was like many other teenagers: I was obsessed with the vampire/werewolf love triangle that was the Twilight book series.

Now I’m not going to say that the Twilight Saga series is objectively great fiction, because there’s definitely some work needed there, but it was popular for a reason, and I’m sure that if you’re reading this post, chances are that you loved it too.

And with potential new books on the horizon, it’s great to have a good idea of the order of the Twilight books, just in case you want to reread the whole thing.

While I have outlined the release order and the order of the movies in this post, I’ve chosen to spend most of my time talking about the chronological order, since that is what most interests me. But obviously, you can read them in whatever order you want, and I do have some lists of what that looks like.

Plus I’ll add a few extra surprises in there. For example, did you know that there is a graphic novel based on Twilight?

Twilight Saga Summarized

Twilight is a series of books that really took off in the late 2000’s. They are written by Stephenie Meyer, and all of the books in the main series have been made into films.

The main character is a girl named Bella Swan who moved to a small town in Washington where she finds a mysterious teenager (Edward Cullen) who goes to her school and who just happens to be a vampire. Also, spoiler alert, there are also werewolves, and one of them is very hot as well (Jacob Black).

Most of Twilight centers around this love triangle between Bella, the vampire, and the werewolf. It kinda started off the whole shifter romance thing.

Since the final film, very little has been done with the series, but there are a few extra releases that are related to the series, and Stephenie Meyer has said that there will be more. So we can expect that the series won’t be going away anytime soon.

The Release Order

Alright, but to get back to the topic at hand, let’s look at the Twilight books in release order. I’m also including the graphic novel and any side novels that are relevant.

The first four on this list make up the main series. Life and Death is a reimagining of the first book, with the main two roles gender swapped, so it isn’t canon. Midnight Sun, on the other hand, is a companion book to the first novel, and tells the same story from Edward’s perspective.

There is also the graphic novel, which was released in 2010.

The Chronological Order

All right, now let’s get into the meat and potatoes of this list. I’ll spend a little bit more time describing each item on the list as we go through these stories chronologically.

  • No products found.: this is the story that started it all, with the love story between Isabella Swan and Edward Cullen, who has managed to keep his vampire identity a secret for many years. Their love has to balance satisfying their desires versus defying their instincts.
  • Midnight Sun (2020): while this book was printed much later, it takes place at exactly the same time as Twilight. However, it tells the same story through the eyes of Edward Cullen, and may be the first of several new books related to the Twilight series.
  • Twilight: The Graphic Novel (2010): in a slightly different approach, here is another book that takes place at the same time as the Twilight novel, but this is actually a graphic novel adaptation. The art style is kind of anime, and I am totally here for it.
  • No products found.: this is the second book in the main Twilight Saga, taking place shortly after the first book. It goes a lot deeper into the werewolves of this universe, and the third pillar in the love triangle, Jacob Black.
  • No products found.: the stakes start to get much higher in this book, as a malicious vampire goes on the epic killing spree in a quest for revenge. Through all this Edward and Jacob have to protect Bella, and the whole thing gets a bit messy.
  • No products found.: this is a novella that takes place around the same time as eclipse, but goes into a little bit of detail related to Bree Tanner, the protagonist of this novella.
  • No products found.: Breaking Dawn wraps up the main Twilight Saga, and does so in a way that is quite explosive. I won’t give away much, because if you haven’t read the previous three books, saying anything may be a spoiler, but if you enjoy those you will definitely love this ending.
  • Life and Death (2015): this is a noncanonical exploration of Twilight reimagined, where Bella and Edward are gender swapped. It’s a fun little bit of almost fanfiction, but written in an official capacity.

And as far as the books go, that’s pretty much it. I hope you enjoy this look at our canonical reading order for the Twilight books.

The Movies in Order

But wait, there’s more! If you didn’t know, there are five Twilight movie adaptations of the main four Twilight books, and if you wanted to include them in this order, then this is the order that you should watch:

  1. Twilight (2008)
  2. New Moon (2009)
  3. Eclipse (2010)
  4. Breaking Dawn, Part 1 (2011)
  5. Breaking Dawn, Part 2 (2012)

That’s pretty simple, and I definitely don’t recommend you watch them out of order. I also recommend you read the books first, as some of the films are perhaps the reason why this series sometimes gets a bad rap. The films feature Kristen Stewart as Bella Swan, Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen, and Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black.

The Future of Twilight

Will we see another Twilight Saga book? Or perhaps a film adaptation of Midnight Sun?

Well in 2020, Stephenie Meyer revealed that she is indeed working on two more Twilight novels. It’s unclear whether these books will continue Edward Cullen’s perspective that began in Midnight Sun, or if these will be completely new story material.

And as for a film adaptation of Midnight Sun, we currently don’t know anything about that. However, since this is just a re-treading of the first book from a different perspective, I think a film adaptation is rather unlikely.

And there you have it, all of the twilight books in order. I hope this guide was useful for you, and if it was I recommend you check out some of my other guides of a similar subject. Take care, and I will see you next time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *